World Library  
Flag as Inappropriate
Email this Article

List of 1998 FIFA World Cup matches

Article Id: WHEBN0041311146
Reproduction Date:

Title: List of 1998 FIFA World Cup matches  
Author: World Heritage Encyclopedia
Language: English
Subject: 1998 FIFA World Cup broadcasting rights, 1998 FIFA World Cup, 1998 FIFA World Cup Group G, 1998 FIFA World Cup Group F, 1998 FIFA World Cup Group D
Collection:
Publisher: World Heritage Encyclopedia
Publication
Date:
 

List of 1998 FIFA World Cup matches

This is a chronological list of matches for the 1998 FIFA World Cup.

All times are given in Central European Time (UTC+01).

1998 World Cup schedule
Day Venue Time Stage Team 1 Result Team 2
Wednesday, 10 June Saint-Denis 15:00 Opening Ceremony
First round of group stage matches
Saint-Denis 16:30 Group A Brazil  2 – 1  Scotland
Montpellier 20:00 Morocco  2 – 2  Norway
Thursday, 11 June Bordeaux 16:30 Group B Italy  2 – 2  Chile
Toulouse 20:00 Cameroon  1 – 1  Austria
Friday, 12 June Montpellier 13:30 Group D Paraguay  0 – 0  Bulgaria
Lens 16:30 Group C Saudi Arabia  0 – 1  Denmark
Marseille 20:00 France  3 – 0  South Africa
Saturday, 13 June Nantes 13:30 Group D Spain  2 – 3  Nigeria
Lyon 16:30 Group E South Korea  1 – 3  Mexico
Saint-Denis 20:00 Netherlands  0 – 0  Belgium
Sunday, 14 June Toulouse 13:30 Group H Argentina  1 – 0  Japan
Saint-Étienne 16:30 Group F Yugoslavia  1 – 0  Iran
Lens 20:00 Group H Jamaica  1 – 3  Croatia
Monday, 15 June Marseille 13:30 Group G England  2 – 0  Tunisia
Lyon 16:30 Romania  1 – 0  Colombia
Paris 20:00 Group F Germany  2 – 0  United States
Second round of group stage matches
Tuesday, 16 June Bordeaux 16:30 Group A Scotland  1 – 1  Norway
Nantes 20:00 Brazil  3 – 0  Morocco
Wednesday, 17 June Saint-Étienne 16:30 Group B Chile  1 – 1  Austria
Montpellier 20:00 Italy  3 – 0  Cameroon
Thursday, 18 June Toulouse 16:30 Group C South Africa  1 – 1  Denmark
Saint-Denis 20:00 France  4 – 0  Saudi Arabia
Friday, 19 June Paris 16:30 Group D Nigeria  1 – 0  Bulgaria
Saint-Étienne 20:00 Spain  0 – 0  Paraguay
Saturday, 20 June Nantes 13:30 Group H Japan  0 – 1  Croatia
Bordeaux 16:30 Group E Belgium  2 – 2  Mexico
Marseille 20:00 Netherlands  5 – 0  South Korea
Sunday, 21 June Lens 13:30 Group F Germany  2 – 2  Yugoslavia
Paris 16:30 Group H Argentina  5 – 0  Jamaica
Lyon 20:00 Group F United States  1 – 2  Iran
Monday, 22 June Montpellier 16:30 Group G Colombia  1 – 0  Tunisia
Toulouse 21:00 Romania  2 – 1  England
Third round of group stage matches
Tuesday, 23 June Saint-Denis 15:00 Group B Italy  2 – 1  Austria
Nantes 15:00 Chile  1 – 1  Cameroon
Marseille 20:00 Group A Brazil  1 – 2  Norway
Saint-Étienne 20:00 Scotland  0 – 3  Morocco
Wednesday, 24 June Lyon 15:00 Group C France  2 – 1  Denmark
Bordeaux 15:00 South Africa  2 – 2  Saudi Arabia
Toulouse 20:00 Group D Nigeria  1 – 3  Paraguay
Lens 20:00 Spain  6 – 1  Bulgaria
Thursday, 25 June Saint-Étienne 15:00 Group E Netherlands  2 – 2  Mexico
Paris 15:00 Belgium  1 – 1  South Korea
Nantes 20:00 Group F United States  0 – 1  Yugoslavia
Montpellier 20:00 Germany  2 – 0  Iran
Friday, 26 June Bordeaux 15:00 Group H Argentina  1 – 0  Croatia
Lyon 15:00 Japan  1 – 2  Jamaica
Lens 20:00 Group G Colombia  0 – 2  England
Saint-Denis 20:00 Romania  1 – 1  Tunisia
Knockout stage matches
Saturday, 27 June Marseille 15:30 2nd Round Match 1 Italy  1 – 0  Norway
Paris 20:00 2nd Round Match 2 Brazil  4 – 1  Chile
Sunday, 28 June Lens 15:30 2nd Round Match 3 France  1 – 0
a.e.t.
 Paraguay
Saint-Denis 20:00 2nd Round Match 4 Nigeria  1 – 4  Denmark
Monday, 29 June Montpellier 15:30 2nd Round Match 5 Germany  2 – 1  Mexico
Toulouse 20:00 2nd Round Match 6 Netherlands  2 – 1  Yugoslavia
Tuesday, 30 June Bordeaux 15:30 2nd Round Match 7 Romania  0 – 1  Croatia
Saint-Étienne 20:00 2nd Round Match 8 Argentina  2 – 2
(4–3) pen.
 England
Wednesday, 1 July Rest days
Thursday, 2 July
Friday, 3 July Saint-Denis 15:30 Quarter-final 1 Italy  0 – 0
(3–4) pen.
 France
Nantes 20:00 Quarter-final 2 Brazil  3 – 2  Denmark
Saturday, 4 July Marseille 15:30 Quarter-final 3 Netherlands  2 – 1  Argentina
Lyon 20:00 Quarter-final 4 Germany  0 – 3  Croatia
Sunday, 5 July Rest days
Monday, 6 July
Tuesday, 7 July Marseille 20:00 Semi-final 1 Brazil  1 – 1
(4–2) pen.
 Netherlands
Wednesday, 8 July Saint-Denis 20:00 Semi-final 2 France  2 – 1  Croatia
Thursday, 9 July Rest days
Friday, 10 July
Saturday, 11 July Paris 20:00 Third place play-off Netherlands  1 – 2  Croatia
Sunday, 12 July Saint-Denis 18:00 Closing Ceremony
Final tournament
Saint-Denis 21:00 Final Brazil  0 – 3  France
Saint-Denis 23:00 France won their first title his servant to given by FIFA World Cup Trophy

References

This article was sourced from Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License; additional terms may apply. World Heritage Encyclopedia content is assembled from numerous content providers, Open Access Publishing, and in compliance with The Fair Access to Science and Technology Research Act (FASTR), Wikimedia Foundation, Inc., Public Library of Science, The Encyclopedia of Life, Open Book Publishers (OBP), PubMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and USA.gov, which sources content from all federal, state, local, tribal, and territorial government publication portals (.gov, .mil, .edu). Funding for USA.gov and content contributors is made possible from the U.S. Congress, E-Government Act of 2002.
 
Crowd sourced content that is contributed to World Heritage Encyclopedia is peer reviewed and edited by our editorial staff to ensure quality scholarly research articles.
 
By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. World Heritage Encyclopedia™ is a registered trademark of the World Public Library Association, a non-profit organization.
 


Copyright © World Library Foundation. All rights reserved. eBooks from Project Gutenberg are sponsored by the World Library Foundation,
a 501c(4) Member's Support Non-Profit Organization, and is NOT affiliated with any governmental agency or department.